Rocky Mountain Way … Tetons style

I have to give credit for the inspiration for this article/photo essay to my California friend Deborah Parrish, a photography buff and new blogger herself, and if you’ll look over at my blogroll to your right you’ll find her under “OneDrfuLife” — as in “wonderful life.”

Last Friday, Deb shared an article on a private airplane trip that she and her husband, Chick Petersen, made from their home in northern California to Monterey on the coast of central California.  Her article appears in the link below:

Flyin’ High

Deb shared some great photos that she took from up in the air, and I was especially “taken away” by a shot from the distance looking over San Francisco itself, showing the expanse of America’s “most romantic city.”

I’m giving Deb credit for the inspiration because it reminded me of some photos that I took the day after Thanksgiving in 2007.  My family — my lovely wife, Amy; my two sons, Curtis and Grant; my daughter, Alicia; and myself — along with my father-in-law Doug Wareing and one of Amy’s older brothers, Paul, and Paul’s regular pilot went on a plane ride in Paul’s six-passenger plane so Paul could get some flying time, taking off from the Idaho Falls airport and heading eastward to the Teton Mountain range.

Seeing the Grand Tetons is certainly nothing new to me.  I’d lived close enough to them long enough to drive over to see them whenever I felt the urge, and I’ve been able to catch a glimpse of them rising above the desert floor outside of Idaho Falls so often through so many years as I’ve headed southbound from my hometown of Salmon, Idaho, I almost take them for granted.

That closeness to them has never lessened my appreciation for their wonderful beauty.  This plane trip in 2007, however, gave me an entirely different perspective on them.  Using a good, strong zoom lens, you almost feel like a bird or an angel soaring high above the peaks and the lakes surrounding the Tetons.

It gives a perfect “angel’s eye view” of that Rocky Mountain way.

(All still photos below Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media — ANY UNAUTHORIZED DUPLICATION OR REPRODUCTION IS PROHIBITED)

Eight-year-old Alicia taking her first REALLY fun plane ride.

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at http://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Outdoors, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rocky Mountain Way … Tetons style

  1. OneDrfuLife says:

    Wow, breathtaking photos! John, these are amazing shots. Now I really want to see the Tetons! Do you mind telling me what kind of camera did you use to take these photos?

  2. Thanks Deb! Glad you like them. I’d love to be able to do what you did last week too, there were some very cool shots in your post. It is definitely worth the trip to the Tetons and to Yellowstone for all the fantastic scenery there is out there, and if you’ve never been to Glacier National Park in Montana you’ve got to go there too.

    The camera is a Nikon D50 that I got several years ago for the art side of Amy’s business, something that she could just put in auto mode and just point and shoot and this one has been great for that. That’s what I used at Baron’s place when I was there. I also have a Nikon film camera a lot like it tucked away somewhere, but I actually haven’t used that one for quite a while. Who even processes film anymore? :D I pretty much strictly use Amy’s D50. And I mostly just leave it set in auto mode, these things are so smart they typically get some decent settings themselves.

    For lenses, I have a Nikkor 28-80mm and a Promaster Spectrum 7 100-300mm zoom lens that I got used years ago. The Promaster allowed me to get the really close-up shots (particularly Mount Moran where it feels like you can just reach out and touch it) of the Tetons, otherwise the plane would have crashed. Ha! I was changing lenses like crazy on this trip.

  3. Amazing photos! Especially for me, since I live in a very flat, very green place, and scenery like that is not something I have access to here. Thanks for sharing those! :)

  4. Amy says:

    I have lived near the tetons for most of my life. I have done backpacking trips that have taken me close to them too. Very nice mountains to see.

  5. Pingback: AMY’S ANGLE — A good reason for my parents’ concern | A View From The Middle (Class)

  6. Judy says:

    Hi…Thanks for the pingback! I love your photos! They are spectacular! The Tetons are my favorite mountain range….for many reasons. I’ve never seen them in winter, however, nor have I seen them from a plane during the day. I have flown into Jackson Hole just as the sun was setting behind them and was mad that my camera was in the overhead bin! I can’t get over your gorgeous photos! Thanks for posting them!

    • Thanks to you for your great remarks as well Judy. And you took a gorgeous shot of Oxbow Bend yourself. I just happened to be in the right place at the right time to even get the opportunity to take these. The Tetons are just one of those places where you could spend endless amounts of time just working toward getting great photos.

  7. Pingback: Links to the past year in “A View From the Middle (Class)” | A View From The Middle (Class)

Leave a Reply

