About those who deserve to be heard, and aren’t

With this article, I’m reaching another milestone for this blog.  I’ve had at least one blog post published here on a daily basis for the past 160 days.  This is blog post No. 300.  Do the math … that’s actually very close to two blog posts every day, and there have been days when I’ve done three or four in a day.  I’ve tried to give each one as much substance as I can, even when I’ve had very little to say.

Ty Cobb holds the Major League Baseball record...

Ty Cobb holds the Major League Baseball record for highest career batting average, at .366. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The No. 300.  There’s something pretty cool about that number.  In baseball, it makes for a very good batting average for a season or a career, a lot like the career averages of Ted Williams or Ty Cobb.  I fancy myself as a bit of a fighter “from the inside,” in a way like Ty Cobb (though he was more of an “outside fighter”).  In pro football, it’s a great number for career touchdown passes.

For my blog, it represents a daily effort to show the world a part of myself around 300 times.

That’s the way I’ve always wanted it to be.  That’s the way I intend for this blog to stay.

This blog is now — as of this writing — followed by 71 people who can read what I have to say every time they look at their email.  Beyond that, it’s viewed every day in different ways approaching an average of 200 different times through various sources — Google searches, Facebook, Twitter, other bloggers reading my posts, people going straight to http://www.aviewfromthemiddleclass.com, to name a few.

That’s people reading what I have to say from my home in Utah, reaching all the way around the world, on a daily basis.  I can see which countries and how many times people in each country are reading what I have to say, on a daily basis.  That’s an awesome thing to think about.

Some amazing things continue to happen with this blog.  There’s been something going on for a few weeks now that’s brought this creation of mine a lot of attention on a daily basis with some potentially very good things happening as a result for hundreds of people, including myself, but for legal reasons I can’t tell what that “something” is … yet.

This blog has always been about giving a voice to the “average, middle-class or below” type of person — the ones struggling to have their voices heard.  If it’s not me saying it, I’ve offered to have others like me say it here themselves, in their own words.  I’ve offered people the chance to show their concerns, their frustrations, even their talents.

I’m a big admirer of people’s talents, whether it comes to business or writing or photography or art or parenting or music.  I’m all for recognizing people’s abilities and celebrating them, especially when they have talents that deserve to be seen or heard.  I want to share them here, even if they’re totally silly (that’s why I have the category “The View’s BIG TALENT SHOW” which could easily be turned into something not so silly, as I’m doing here today with this post).

To celebrate this 300th post, I want to do something a bit special along the lines of sharing people’s talents and showing how far-reaching it can be.

Philip Gilpin

First, there’s a second cousin of mine from Salmon, Idaho, who works at a tire store in my hometown.  His name is Philip Gilpin.  He’s long been called “Flip” for short, and he still seems to put up with it.  His grandfather on his dad’s side, C.L. Gilpin, was my mother’s brother.  C.L. was very musical himself, skilled with his hands, could build his own guitars, and he knew how to play them very well.  Philip’s mother’s side of the family has some musical talent as well, so it was a good combination for him.

Philip has played guitar and sung in his own band, mostly performing in and around the Salmon area, mostly doing cover tunes.  But they’re not all well-known cover tunes, and at times I’ve heard Philip sing the songs even better than the original artists.

Philip may be smaller in physical stature, but he’s got one big singing voice.

Mark Bailey

Now, we’ll go all the way across the United States and “across the pond” to London, and an online friend of mine for upwards of 10 years or so, Mark Bailey, showing the kind of guitar playing technique that’s not that easy to master.  Mark can be a bit of a perfectionist, and there are a few performances he’s selected to share here with you personally.

I’ve known “Doc” Bailey from the music discussion forum www.progressiveears.com, where we’ve shared many similar tastes in music and in political beliefs.

“Doc” knows what he’s talking about politically.  Mark is a teaching fellow in international relations at a university in London, but he can also play like mad on a guitar.  Here’s his chance to shine in my “talent show.”

Now I’ll return to my own neck of the woods, and a woman who makes me proud every time I hear her sing.  She’s sung in churches and libraries, weddings and solo with a local symphony orchestra backing her.  She can bring tears of joy to my eyes with her singing.  She’s long wanted to be able to sing for the mass, worldwide public, and I’d love to give her that opportunity.

If you’re on my Facebook friends list, you’ll be able to see and hear her yourself in the link below (unfortunately, it’s not on YouTube), along with a lingering side-rear view of yours truly.  If you’re not on my Facebook friends list, you probably won’t be able to see and hear it yourself — but don’t let that stop you from putting in a friend request for me under “John G. Miller.”  I don’t bite.

My lovely wife, Amy Miller, singing “In Heaven’s Eyes”

There you have it … post No. 300.  I’ve been having an absolute ball, so don’t stop me now!

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at http://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in "The View's BIG TALENT SHOW", Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to About those who deserve to be heard, and aren’t

  1. Pingback: AMY’S ANGLE — Getting ready to play and sing | A View From The Middle (Class)

Leave a Reply

