… Then there are bad neighbors …

I wrote yesterday about the good neighbors and friends who can be all around us, willing to lend a helping hand when needed.  Those are the kinds of people I like to write about the most.

Unfortunately, there’s another side of the coin.  Yes, there are bad neighbors out there as well, and I’m sure we’ve all run into them.  They’re the ones who seem to feel they shouldn’t have to lift a finger to help, no matter what the situation might involve — even if they’re the reason the situation exists in the first place.

Amy lunges her Arabian mare, Gypsy, in a section of arena made softer with wood chips spread along the hard clay soil. (Photo By John G. Miller)

My lovely wife Amy and I are reminded of this often when she goes out to her friend’s property to work with her horses.  We’ve known Amy’s friend for years, we’ve seen her go through some big ups and downs in her life and she’s seen the same out of us.  She is a true friend, often willing to go out of her way to help others.

Part of how she helps us has to do with the whole reason Amy’s able to keep her horses in the first place, giving her the ability to live her passion for equines.  Our friend has horse property she doesn’t even use, and in exchange for Amy keeping her horses there we’ve looked after her home and her pets when she’s gone on trips, or we’ve helped her with other things on her property.

Our friend has a neighbor to her west who’s quite the guy — he’s divorced, owns his own plumbing business, has his own horse property with a bit of grass pasture where he keeps a couple of horses, a mule, a goat, and a dog that wanders and loves to harass our friend’s chickens if given the chance.

At least once a week, the property owners flood irrigate their land with water from a canal company, and the owners have been advised to keep their water on their own property, not to let it run onto neighbors’ property.  Our friend’s horse property consists of dirt arenas, no grass, so there’s no need for her to irrigate there.

Her neighbor keeps the grass on his horse property nice and green through flood irrigating.  His water flows eastward across a slight downhill slope … right onto and through our friend’s arena, carving a trench through the middle of what could be a nice, big area for riding horses.

We’ve put a fair amount of work into that arena ourselves, clearing rocks and trying to level the ground where the trenches are carved by the neighbor’s overflowing water that leaves a pool of water and mud in the clay soil.

Amy’s started trying to soften the ground by having wood chips hauled in for the arena and spreading the chips out.  Part of those wood chips have been washed away as well.

It reached a point a couple of years ago where I decided that if the neighbor wasn’t going to do anything to keep his water from eroding away our friend’s arena, I’d do something about it myself.  Our sons and I dug a trench along the fence line, all the way along the west side of the friend’s property and down to the north property line where I cut out a place for it to drain into an open area.

Re-digging a trench with a steel bar and a shovel. (Photo By Amy Miller)

Our work was all done by hand, with shovels and a heavy steel bar to break up the hard clay soil.  We got it done and, for the most part, it did the job for a while.  Our biggest problem was that there was just too much water coming too fast from the neighbor’s property, so over time much of that work has been pretty much washed away by further erosion with the trench getting almost completely filled in again by now.

The trenches cutting through the middle of the riding arena have returned.

Does our friend’s neighbor care?  Not a bit.  He has all the equipment he needs to do a good job of building up a dike on his side of the property, including a hydraulic shovel that could fix things up with very little time and very little effort.

If only he used them.

I’ll never forget the Sunday afternoon two years ago when I’d started digging out the trench along the fence line the first time.  After changing out of his Sunday best and into his grubbies, the neighbor came over to the fence across from where I was working.

“So, how’s that workin’ out for ya?” he asked me with a sarcastic tone.  I had a feeling he was being sarcastic because he’d had animal control officers talking to him around that time about a complaint they’d gotten about him not taking proper care of livestock on his property, he blamed us for making the call, and the only problem was that we didn’t do it.

“It’d work out fine if there wasn’t so much water coming over from your property,” I replied.

He looked up and down the wooden fence line that was along the property, a fence that was falling apart due to rotting and livestock chewing and jumping over it to get to the other side for free hay at feeding time.

“So, what can we do about fixing this fence?” he asked me.

“Well, it’s not going to do a whole lot of good to fix the fence until you do something about your water flowing over here because it just rots out the posts,” I answered.

He didn’t like that.  He went on, threatening to just tear the fence down and leave it down with a bit of a threat to the security of Amy’s horses, to which I informed him that we’re friends with a good lawyer, to which he responded with a couple of choice F-bombs.

I’m a good-sized dude, and I think I could handle myself just fine in a fight, but I choose to use my head instead of my brawn.  If ever there was a time I felt like belting someone, it was at that moment with that neighbor.

I’ve avoided him like the plague ever since.  I don’t even want to get a close-up look at his face.

The soupy, dark brown mud of clay soil found in northern Utah quickly dries to hardened, light-colored dirt on a pair of brown boots when you’re in the middle of digging a trench. (Photo By John G. Miller)

And now, here we are two years later, and our hand-dug trenches need to be re-dug.  The neighbor’s heavy equipment sits there, idle, with work needing to be done.  Oh well, it’s good for exercise and some sore muscles on my part.  Once again, I get to work with either rock-hard clay or the muddy slop it turns into when it’s soaked.  All because a good friend’s neighbor can’t be bothered to control his own flow of irrigation water.

Yes, there are good people in this world, neighbors who see a need and respond with kindness and civility.

And then again, there are neighbors like this one.  Sad.

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at http://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Family, Life in Utah, Middle class life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to … Then there are bad neighbors …

  1. Amy Miller says:

    You know that when we dug the trenches the first time I was helping dig just as hard as the boys. Just letting you know. :)

  2. S Eve Jaskot says:

    John, do you think you can approach him about using his equipment to help you? Good luck & pray for him!

    • Ask this neighbor about using his equipment? Nope. I’ll put it this way, this is a guy who had his family go without heat once for an entire winter for some reason. He even got mad at relatives of theirs when they tried to step in and help in that situation. Pray for him … yeah, he could use that. The truth is, we’re starting to win the battle with his water now just digging a trench on our own. Still need to do some more work (Monday) but it helps make the job easier when it’s muddy. I’ve got it all figured out.

  3. Amy Miller says:

    This man will laugh at us while digging the trench and ask us if it is working for us. This man lets his kids get little ducks but won’t bother to feed and water them and just lets them die. This man will put a kitten in a crate and leave it there for a long period of time and let it die. He even allows animals to rott on his place until someone like John brings it up and says he is violating the safety code. This man doesn’t have it all together in his mind. He does need prayers.

Leave a Reply

