My music playlist for today (June 22, 2012 edition)

There were quite a few nights when I was in my last couple of years of high school that I’d put on some headphones, play some music while maybe doing some work in my room, and end up dancing around in front of a mirror, checking out my moves.

English: The Average White Band performs in Ro...

English: The Average White Band performs in Rochester, NY. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There were quite a few nights where I’d end up dancing to the music of Average White Band too.

Most often, it was to their live double album, “Person To Person,” that had some of their biggest hits.  And it had the ballad “If I Ever Lose This Heaven” that helped me to pour everything out from a teenaged broken heart.  Yeah, those were the days.

They had the tight horns, they had the funky rhythm section, they had the guitars churning away to the beat, they had the soulful singing.

For a bunch of white guys from Scotland (aside from drummer Steve Ferrone or the vocal stint put in by Ben E. King), they were one funky outfit.

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at http://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Funk/Soul/Blues, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My music playlist for today (June 22, 2012 edition)

  1. Pingback: My music playlist for today (July 6, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

Leave a Reply

