My music playlist for today (July 2, 2012 edition)

It’s a genuinely American week we’re in, so how about enjoying a bit more genuinely American music?

We can get right down to the roots today when it comes to country music.  Personally, I love the sound of good bluegrass being played.  I guess that’s because bluegrass is a part of my roots.  I love to hear mandolins and fiddles together, an upright bass, banjo and guitar, and a vocalist with more of a high-pitched sound.

Bill Monroe and his Blue Grass Boys

Bill Monroe and his Blue Grass Boys (Photo credit: Thomas Hawk)

In order to celebrate bluegrass music, we might as well go all the way back to the ones who brought it to the forefront, Bill Monroe and the Blue Grass Boys — the “Father of Bluegrass.”

Bluegrass is fed by the likes of English, Scottish, and Irish folk music, it’s got African-American influences through its taste of jazziness.  It’s a melting pot, filled with the ingredients of the people who came to Appalachia.

As Monroe himself used to describe it, it’s “Scottish bagpipes and ole-time fiddlin’.  It’s Methodist and Holiness and Baptist.  It’s blues and jazz, and it has a high lonesome sound.”

That “high lonesome sound” is a description I’ve heard most often.  It’s part of what’s attracted me to bluegrass for a lot of years.  No one’s done it better than Bill Monroe and his boys.

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at http://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Country, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My music playlist for today (July 2, 2012 edition)

  1. Pingback: My music playlist for today (July 4, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  2. Pingback: My music playlist for today (July 5, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  3. Bumba says:

    This is a great page. Thanks for the Bill Monroe.

  4. Pingback: My music playlist for today (July 6, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  5. Pingback: My music playlist for today (July 7, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

Leave a Reply

