The horror of 9/11 remembered

This is the first time the anniversary of 9/11 has come around since I’ve been doing this blog, so please allow me the time and space to remember on this 11th anniversary of that horrifying day.

September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: V...

September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: View of the World Trade Center and the Statue of Liberty. (Image: US National Park Service ) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was getting ready for work that morning, and our two boys were getting ready for school.  I was watching a sports channel on television with a recap of the previous night’s Monday Night Football action, and my mother-in-law called on the phone.  Soon after the phone rang, my lovely wife called out to me.

“John, switch the channel to the news.  There’s something going on in New York City.”

It was then that I saw the World Trade Center burning.  I remember the sickened feeling in my gut when I saw it.  I was glued to the TV as much as possible until it was time to take the boys to school and head off to work myself.

I had the radio in my pickup truck tuned to a news station for the 15-20-minute drive to the building where I worked.  I remember the feeling of shock at the first report of a tower crumbling to the ground.  When I arrived at work and made my way up to the IT department on the third floor, I saw that very few people were found sitting at their desks and actually working that morning.  Someone had brought a TV into a meeting room, and most people were in there, eyes fixed on the screen with that same look of shock and horror.

By then, the news was breaking that the Pentagon had been hit, and a plane had gone down in Pennsylvania.  It was then that the magnitude of  what was transpiring started to hit.  The shock and horror had feelings of anger piled on top.

People in our department were given the option to go home.  Unless anything was pressing, it was evident that little or no work would get done by anyone that day, and our corporate headquarters was near the scene of the crime in New York City.

I jumped online to a progressive music discussion forum I had just discovered in the months before where I’d started making online friends.  People around the country — around the world, for that matter — were commenting on what was happening in New York, Washington, and Pennsylvania.  Everyone was trying to come to grips with it, offering prayers and condolences.

People were drawn together to share a common feeling of grief.

I remember communicating with a couple of people on that music discussion site who were eyewitnesses to what had happened in New York.  They needed to talk out their feelings, and their online friends there did what they could to comfort them from thousands of miles away.

One friend of mine from New York — a retired sheriff and firefighter from the suburbs of the Big Apple who knew way too many of the people who raced into the towers and lost their lives — offered up a perfect song by the group Genesis:  “Undertow.”

It seemed like a perfect song to remember all those who had fallen.

The curtains are drawn
Now the fire warms the room.
Meanwhile outside
Wind from the north-east chills the air,
It will soon be snowing out there.

And some there are
Cold, they prepare for a sleepless night.
Maybe this will be their last fight.

But we’re safe in each others embrace,
All fears go out as I look on your face -

Better think awhile
Or I may never think again.
If this were the last day of your life, my friend,
Tell me, what do you think you would do then?

Stand up to the blow that fate has struck upon you,
Make the most of all you still have coming to you, [or]
Lay down on the ground and let the tears run from you,
Crying to the grass and trees and heaven finally on your knees

Let me live again, let life come find me wanting.
Spring must strike again against the shield of winter.
Let me feel once more the arms of love surround me,
Telling me the dangers past, I need not fear the icy blast again.

Laughter, music and perfume linger here
And there, and there,
Wine flows from flask to glass and mouth,
As it soothes, confusing our doubts.

And soon we feel,
Why do a single thing to-day,
There’s tomorrow sure as I’m here.

So the days they turn into years
And still no tomorrow appears.

Better think awhile
Or I may never think again.
If this were the last day of your life, my friend,
Tell me, what do you think you would do then?

Stand up to the blow that fate has struck upon you,
Make the most of all you still have coming to you, [or]
Lay down on the ground and let the tears run from you,
Crying to the grass and trees and heaven finally on your knees

Let me live again, let life come find me wanting.
Spring must strike again against the shield of winter.
Let me feel once more the arms of love surround me,
Telling me the dangers past, I need not fear the icy blast again.

– “Undertow,” words and music by Tony Banks

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at http://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Current events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The horror of 9/11 remembered

  1. walt says:

    I didn’t lose any friends or loved ones at WTC on 9/11.Like millions around the country and the world, i was transfixed, staring at the TV, not really believing what i was seeing on that morning,11 years ago.

    I remember being worried about my mother and father, who went into Manhattan early on the morning of 9/11 to see a doctor.With the subways shut down, i was ,understanably concerned about my elderly parents stuck downtown with no way to get back to Queens.It was a long stressfull day(nothing in comparison to the day for people with friends and loved ones working in and around WTC).My parents made it back to Queens in good shape.

    I remember we were gathered at WTC,Windows on The World in June,2011 to celebrate my mothers 75th birthday.I was standing at the windows at Windows on The World with my nephews, enjoying the incredible views from the 106th floor.

    Little did we know……..

Leave a Reply

