How do you solve a shutdown? Burn down the House?

A random computer-generated phone call came to our land line tonight.  It was from Utah’s Democratic Rep. Jim Matheson, inviting me and a bunch more people from around the state — all registered voters, I’m sure — to a live telephone town hall.

, Congressman from Utah (D-Utah, 2001-present)

Jim Matheson, Democratic Congressman from Utah (2001-present) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I actually stayed on the line and listened to what that rare Democratic lawmaker from Utah had to say, especially in light of a government shutdown getting tons of attention from all corners of the United States and around the globe.

I also wanted to see what Matheson had to say in light of the fact that he’s opposed to the Affordable Care Act, and has actually been among those in the House of Representatives who’ve voted to repeal the ACA, stripping landmark legislation of funding before it’s even gone into effect.

Yes, Utah’s rare Democratic lawmaker has been among the lawmakers choosing to waste time and money by voting 40-some times to do away with that nasty thing called “Obamacare” before shutting down the government because, darn it all, those “kids” in Congress who don’t believe in progress and compromise just won’t be satisfied until they get their way, and they don’t give a damn who gets hurt in the process.

Matheson may be a Utah Democrat, but that doesn’t make him any less of a contributor to Congress’ anti-ACA hamsters taking another spin on that wheel going nowhere.

I got my question in to a screener, waited in the queue, and the call ended before I got to put in my line of questioning.  But I did leave a message, not that I expect it to do any good.

It went kind of like this, with a couple of statements of my disappointment thrown in as well …

Hey, Rep. Matheson, I understand you don’t like “Obamacare” but what specifics do you have to make a better law? And instead of wasting time and money voting 40-some times to defund a law that hasn’t even taken effect yet, why not let it take effect and then work to improve on it — fixing the things that don’t work, moving forward with the things that do?

Along the way, though, I got to get a feel for what’s on the mind of Utah voters over what’s happening in Washington, D.C., these days — or, rather, what’s not happening.  And the bottom line is this:  Liberal or conservative, people are pissed, and they’re pissed that lawmakers in Congress so bent on taking away the ACA would hold a nation hostage in order to do that.

I shared that line of questioning on my Facebook status.  One fellow music-loving friend said I make too much sense.

I need to stop making sense.  Most politicians don’t like it when people make sense, not when there are political points to be made.

How do you solve a government shutdown?  In a figurative (not literal) sense, maybe it takes threatening to “burn down the House.”

Burn the damn thing down.  Start all over again.

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at http://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Current events, Middle class life, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How do you solve a shutdown? Burn down the House?

  1. Bumba says:

    The music was good too. Of course you’re right. But the only way things’ll get better is if people get smarter. I mean just smart enough to open their eyes.

  2. fatherkane says:

    Thanks for the link.
    Good luck with this guy although I hear he may have a challenger.;

Leave a Reply

