A touch of fear was in the air on Halloween, in more ways than one.

I had been accustomed to getting up as early as 5 a.m. and as late as 5:30 a.m. to make the hour-long commute to work every day for the past five years or so.  Getting up at 6 a.m. on the first Monday of my unemployment to start my day and hit the job search hard was more like an opportunity to sleep in.

I had mentioned my family’s situation on Facebook the night before, and responses started coming in there soon after I posted it.  One lady who works as a manager at a regional office of American Express in town – a person I had worked with for several years before at two other credit card companies and who knows me fairly well personally – started feeding me all kinds of possible places to look and began making contacts of her own on my behalf.  The networking had begun.

Part of my early Monday morning was also spent taking care of in-between-jobs business.  When I was told that I was being terminated the Friday before, information about remaining medical coverage on the company’s plan and COBRA coverage beyond that was passed along, but my mind was such a jumble that I wasn’t absorbing it at the time, so I needed some clarification from the company’s HR department.  My family had a dental appointment scheduled the next morning, and I was wondering if I should cancel it or not.  But we were still covered.  The appointment stayed on the books.

I had already started registering and combing through state job agencies, looking at programming jobs listed there, seeing some leads and putting out online applications.  I checked the jobs page of one of the bigger local banks, started filling out an online application, and had to take my youngest son to his part-time job which happens to be located near our closest Workforce Services office.  After dropping my son off, I went over to the employment office to see what is offered there on training opportunities.  One of the bigger strikes against me in the job search will be that nearly all of my work experience is in one of the more antique mainframe languages.

I need to learn or brush up on one of the newer, sleeker, sexier, more in-demand web-based languages to make myself more appealing, and soon!

After returning home, I continued working on the online application for the big bank, finished it and sent it off.  The searching and networking continued on into early evening.  By the time trick-or-treaters started showing up, I was getting mentally drained just from the searching.  Handing out candy and munching on pizza was a welcome break.

I could only hope and pray that something would pay off in the very near future.

Leave a Reply

