Let me say it again, and if you know the tune this comes from feel free to belt it out …

“There’s somethin’ happenin’ here/What it is ain’t exactly clear …”

It appears that I could now be considered to be an “independent contractor” with a local talent agency.  That might not mean too much right away, it doesn’t mean that I’m going to step right in and start doing voiceover work.  There may come a time when I could get a call to just be “a face in the crowd” in a film or television shoot, but you do what you can and start however you can, and you get paid decent money by the day to do it.

Who knows, maybe someday and in some way you might actually get to hear my voice on a screen somewhere, and you can say, “HEY!  I KNOW THAT GUY!” before people around you respond with a hearty “SSSHHHHHHHHH!!!”

This is a respected agency, accepted by the Better Business Bureau with an A rating, and it doesn’t appear to be in the business to make money strictly off of the talent it finds.  It appears to be in the business to help its talent make money.  I’m all for that.

Tomorrow at 1 p.m., I need to go back in to get some black-and-white professional headshot photos taken so I can be promoted by the agency and start building a resume for talent.  Yeah, it appears I’m in — to a very small degree at this point, but at least it looks like I’m in.

Man, this is different.

No, I am definitely NOT putting all my eggs in this basket.  I had three calls yesterday on possible computer jobs.  An interview was anticipated today through a consulting firm for a mainframe type programming job in which a company is converting mainframe style code into Java code,

Java (programming language)
Image via Wikipedia

which could give me on-the-job training and experience in one of those newer, “sexier” languages, but the person I’d be interviewing with turned out to be gone for the day.  That interview has been pushed back to Monday afternoon.

And, no, I’m not giving up this blog if I do land on my feet again soon.  I’ve only just begun to blog!  I’m getting followers, the stats on my daily views are very encouraging, so the discussion is just now hitting its stride!

Thank you all for the following!  Thanks for continuing to check in on the latest!  Thanks for your support and encouragement!

Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Following up on “Aspirations” … again

  1. Glad to hear you have a job John.Keep one thing in mind;if they want you to do a nude scene,demand extra frikkin money!.After all, you have your standards.-Walt

Leave a Reply

