Well, apparently my “guide” didn’t have Java in the grand plan for my future.  At least, perhaps, not yet.

Yes, I found out by email this morning from the technical recruiter that I was going through that the company that was looking for a COBOL programmer to help convert that code to Java has decided to go with another candidate.  I felt so sure that I was THE leading candidate for the job, too, from everything the recruiter was telling me and the feeling I got from my interview on Monday afternoon.  Apparently, they were referred to someone else who got the job through another source.

Am I bummed?  Yeah, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t.  Am I depressed?  Nope!  I will just press on.  I can still see what happens with the talent agency that I’m already in with as an “independent contractor,” and see if my voice takes me anywhere.  I sent off a bunch of online applications just last night and actually got a call from another technical recruiter as a result from the East Coast this morning as I was driving home from dropping my daughter off at school, telling me about a position with a company in Park City.  It turned out that didn’t look too promising either.

But here’s the deal.  I refuse to give up hope.  I won’t lose my faith.  It will only be stronger.  I can get certified through further training to help boost my resume.  I can do what I’ve been doing for the past month, continuing to expand my job search beyond programming and into writing.

I can take what I’ve started to build with this blog and turn it into something that can touch people’s lives in many ways, to share other people’s similar experiences — not just my own.  To be honest, I feel like that’s a major part of what I’ve been “called” to do.  Even since before I lost my last job just a little over a month ago, I’ve just had that … feeling.

I’m going to keep looking for “a revelation.”  I’m only just beginning.

2 thoughts on “Showing me a “revelation?”

  1. Hang in there John.Better days are ahead for you,i’m sure.You have the love and support from your family,that has got to be a comfort and source of strength.

    You are so much more fortunate than those poor souls(like me) who live alone, no wife, no children,puttering around a lonely apartment.It’s a good thing i’ve never had the desire to drink or do hard drugs;and my happy-go-lucky nature keeps me from the worst aspects of depression.
    The fact that i have some financial resources is probably the only thing that keeps me from a sense of despair.I carry alot of negativity inside me and it has, at times, been like carrying a large boulder on my back.
    Luckily, i have a couple of old friends, my sister and her family live nearby,i get along well with my ex-wife(she sets me up with dates with some of her woman friends),so, things could be worse.

    Hope springs eternal.Good luck John-Walt

Leave a Reply

