Last Saturday, I took you on a personal journey into how Stevie Wonder’s music has had such a tremendous impact on my spiritual beliefs.  And it’s not just Stevie’s music that has had such an impact when it comes to more “secular” music.

A lot of different musicians and groups through the years who aren’t always or have just never been considered to be “contemporary Christian” have reached into my soul and touched my deepest inner beliefs when it comes to spirituality, my desire to find a “spiritual home,” and my thoughts on how we should treat each other as human beings.

Here are a few of them.

Mirror Lake in Utah’s Uinta Mountains (Photo by John G. Miller)

There have been so many times in my life when I’ve needed to find solitude, to think things through or to cry some things out.  When I’ve come across those times, those “quietest moments” have always given me an inner peace.

Actually, here’s how I described it in one of my very first blog posts on November 10, 2011, using the same accompanying photograph of Mirror Lake in Utah, just without the accompanying music video.

“It’s one of those times when I just feel the need to get away, enjoy some peace and quiet, get out into nature.  I’d love to grab a fishing pole, sit or stand along the banks of a stream or a still lake, gaze at a few spots of clouds in a warm blue sky, and breathe in that mountain air.  It wouldn’t matter if I caught a fish or not, just the serenity is all I’d need.

“I can imagine that right about now.  I desire that.  In my mind’s eye, I’m already there.”

My life has been filled with questions — mainly questions on what direction I should take in my life, what I should do in very difficult situations.  I’ve searched within myself for the answers, and one with much greater wisdom than my own has provided me with the answers.

And there’s always this old standby, which I’ve held close to my heart ever since I first started listening to it as a child when it was first released.

The music of Kansas has ALWAYS provided me with a spiritual lift, particularly in the songs penned by Kerry Livgren — who always seemed to be on the same kind of “spiritual quest” that I was on in my life.

And then there was the outright Christianity found in the music of Kerry Livgren when he found what he’d been looking for and went solo.

I’ve always been a firm believer in riding on that “peace train,” like the one described here.

Of course, having heard the last song in my playlist today on the radio and on vinyl record so many times, I was delighted when I actually did end up finding a “church home,” and found this tune at number 44 of the Seventh-day Adventist Church hymnal.  This is far from a “secular tune.”

4 thoughts on “My music playlist for today (January 28, 2012 edition)

Leave a Reply

