By AMY MILLER

There are gifts that the Lord has given to me and I need to remember and praise God for all the wonderful ways that He has blessed me.

Here is a Western photo of John and I when we were younger. Here John is my wrangler. Yeeehaw!

I remember a prayer that I said to God after I broke up with my ex-fiance Craig.  After him, I decided to do it God’s way and I finally figured that He would already have somebody lined up for me.  Someone who would be perfect for me.  Someone who was chosen by God for me.  That was about the time that John came along.  I met him on a blind date that a friend of ours wanted to set up in September of 1989.  It didn’t take long for me to see that John was really a caring, compassionate person.

After dating for six months, we could see that we were compatible — not to mention that our birthdays are only two days apart, that was a plus.  We got married on St. Patrick’s Day in 1990.

Now, here we are, just a month, to be exact, before our 22nd wedding anniversary.  We have three wonderful children together and lots of pets.  John is very patient to put up with the true animal lover that I am.

Anyway, God couldn’t have made a better choice for me.  John has always treated me as someone special.  Yes, like any other couple, we have our up and down days, our struggles, and successes.

But here we are, celebrating another birthday for John, and I can’t be any happier than to call him my companion, best friend, someone I can talk with, joke with, cry with, and he is my lover, my cheerleader (without the pom poms and miniskirt, try and imagine that), he is the father of our rowdy children, but you get my drift?  I could go on and on.  I can’t say enough about how much John means to me.

Here is wishing you, John, my sweetie, a happy birthday and a Happy New Year … oops, you save that last part for the holidays, but it sounds good anyway.  Love you!  I hope you enjoy the music I have chosen for you.   “All I Ask Of You” is one that we had sung at our wedding, I did sing you that song the night before we got married, remember?

Leave a Reply

