I’m feeling a bit lazy when it comes to putting together this post.  My energy’s about drained, but I’m in a very good mood.  After getting my long-ago-forgotten good camera equipment back in my hands from northern California via the postal service last Thursday (thanks Baron!), I got down to the business Sunday morning of doing a bit of freelance photography work, by special request.

While I was walking around, keeping my eye out for some good shots, I saw one that tempted me that had nothing at all to do with my subject at hand — that subject being the exterior of a charter school building.

But as I looked out toward the east, my eye was captured by a vision of majestic beauty that I never get tired of, no matter how many times I see it.  I see it any time I go out to the deck over our back yard to grill up some chicken or steak on the barbecue.  And when I’m not turning the meat over or putting some seasoning or sauce on it, I’m relaxing against the railing of our deck and gazing out at that simple majestic beauty.

This is what I see.

Photo By John G. Miller

I look at that, and I’m often reminded of a time in the late 1990’s when we had a nephew from Idaho staying with us while he was working in this area.  While he was standing in our kitchen, he made an amazing statement to my lovely wife.

“You know what I hate about Utah?  There’s no mountains!”

My wife looked at him with a look of shock on her face before taking him out to our deck and pointing to this vision of a supreme symbol of powerful beauty.

“Then what the heck is that?” she asked.

It’s amazing the things we can miss in this life when we’re not paying close enough attention.

2 thoughts on “A simple vision of majesty

Leave a Reply

