I’m feeling a bit under the weather as I write this.  My daughter must have brought home a bug from school late last week that’s suddenly hit me like a Mack truck, so I’m going to make this very simple so I can spend some time drinking some healthy herbal teas to try and bounce back, and just be lazy for a bit.

First off, there are times when I can be a real statististics “junkie.”  There, now you know.

WordPress.com, this blog’s hosting site, provides some interesting statistics on a daily basis that I can and often times do spend hours looking at and analyzing, trying to gauge what works and what doesn’t in the subjects that I write about in order to be more effective, how readers respond to different topics.  Monday night, I was spending just a little time poking around the numbers when I saw some stats for the first time that literally startled me and gave me a whole new perspective as to how powerful and far-reaching this “blogging game” can be.

The new stats that I found show “views by country,” or how many different blog posts I write that are viewed by people in nations around the world.  The fact that this blog can reach people a continent or even a world away does not surprise me at all any more.  When I started this blog last November 10, the first regular “follower” was a person I did not know from Canada and he started following me within the first day or two that I started posting.  Just a short time after that, I had a friend request on Facebook from a gentleman in Norway who came across my blog somehow through a friend of his in Los Angeles whom I did not know.

I had no idea just how global this blog’s reach could be until I saw that “views by country” summary for the first time Monday night.  It took my breath away, to think that a simple, ordinary, long-haired country boy like me who was born and raised in central Idaho and is just another face in the crowd in Utah can reach out so far into the world, and that people from all over seem to have an interest in what a simple kind of man like me has to say.

Here’s what WordPress has for my all-time global views by country since they’ve been keeping those stats through Monday.  And to those of you from around the world who have decided to “tune in” to my ramblings and rantings since November 10, I say a genuine “THANK YOU!!!!”  Consider me astonished and honored!

COUNTRY                                                                              NUMBER OF VIEWS

United States 1,694
Canada FlagCanada 100
United Kingdom FlagUnited Kingdom 98
Philippines FlagPhilippines 40
Australia FlagAustralia 18
Germany FlagGermany 14
Spain FlagSpain 12
France FlagFrance 12
New Zealand FlagNew Zealand 11
Singapore FlagSingapore 10
Netherlands FlagNetherlands 10
Brazil FlagBrazil 10
Denmark FlagDenmark 9
Israel FlagIsrael 8
Indonesia FlagIndonesia 7
India FlagIndia 7
Sweden FlagSweden 7
Ireland FlagIreland 6
Romania FlagRomania 6
Belgium FlagBelgium 6
Argentina FlagArgentina 5
Russian Federation FlagRussian Federation 5
Turkey FlagTurkey 4
Korea, Republic of FlagRepublic of Korea 4
Italy FlagItaly 4
Chile FlagChile 4
Czech Republic FlagCzech Republic 3
Norway FlagNorway 3
Mexico FlagMexico 3
Greece FlagGreece 3
Switzerland FlagSwitzerland 3
Poland FlagPoland 3
Zimbabwe FlagZimbabwe 2
Austria FlagAustria 2
Malaysia FlagMalaysia 2
Thailand FlagThailand 2
Viet Nam FlagViet Nam 2
Bahamas FlagBahamas 2
Georgia FlagGeorgia 2
Ecuador FlagEcuador 1
United Arab Emirates FlagUnited Arab Emirates 1
Croatia FlagCroatia 1
Ghana FlagGhana 1
Lithuania FlagLithuania 1
Hong Kong FlagHong Kong 1
Colombia FlagColombia 1
Saudi Arabia FlagSaudi Arabia 1
Latvia FlagLatvia 1
Luxembourg FlagLuxembourg 1
Finland FlagFinland 1
Peru FlagPeru 1
Panama FlagPanama 1
Bangladesh FlagBangladesh 1
Afghanistan FlagAfghanistan 1
Pakistan FlagPakistan 1
Portugal FlagPortugal 1
Dominican Republic FlagDominican Republic 1

Now that I have more stats at my disposal, and while this flu bug is messing with me, I’ll be using those stats to act as a “substitute” while I take some “sick time” from putting up lengthy new posts.  That means I’ll be re-posting a few of the “best of” from “A View From The Middle (Class),” along with telling you how many times each of the “best of” posts that I put up has been viewed up to that day, and maybe some updated information if it’s called for.

But have no fear, I’ll be fully “back in the saddle again” in no time.  Nothing’s gonna hold me down for long.  I’ve still got a Lester Chambers show being “broadcast” worldwide Saturday night to promote and write about.

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

2 thoughts on “Some statistics that mean the world to me

Leave a Reply

