My music playlist for today (March 30, 2012 edition)

After giving it some thought, maybe it’s time to add a few categories to my playlist rotation.  I need to add some soul and funk to the mix, some get-up-and-move dance music.

Epiphany: The Best of Chaka Khan, Vol. 1

Epiphany: The Best of Chaka Khan, Vol. 1 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Why not go from yesterday’s feature — Stevie Nicks, once dubbed by Rolling Stone magazine as “The Reigning Queen of Rock and Roll” — right into “The Queen of Funk” herself, Yvette Marie Stevens — also known as Chaka Khan?

Whether she’s been with the funk band Rufus, singing as a guest on someone else’s song, or on her own as a solo act, Chaka has always had a voice I’ve been drawn to like a bee to a flower.  It’s light enough to soar and float, powerful enough to hit you and lift you off the floor like a George Foreman uppercut.

Chaka possesses one of those one-of-a-kind voices.

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at https://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Funk/Soul/Blues, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My music playlist for today (March 30, 2012 edition)

  1. Nothin’ like some Chaka Khan on a Friday morning! Your description of her voice is spot on, and she is a gorgeous, talented woman. Thanks for this post, it got my groove goin’ for the rest of the day!

  2. Pingback: My music playlist for today (April 1, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  3. Pingback: My music playlist for today (April 6, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  4. Pingback: My music playlist for today (April 20, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  5. Pingback: My music playlist for today (April 27, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  6. Pingback: My music playlist for today (May 11, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  7. Pingback: My music playlist for today (May 18, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  8. Pingback: My music playlist for today (May 25, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  9. Pingback: My music playlist for today (June 1, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  10. Pingback: My music playlist for today (June 15, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

  11. Pingback: My music playlist for today (June 22, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

Leave a Reply

