I remember during my younger years having a “music bible” or two in my possession at one time, and for all I know they may still be stashed away somewhere in my home in a place where I just haven’t looked for a while.

They were Rolling Stone Magazine music guides, and I used to study them endlessly and repeatedly.  I especially used to read up on the music that would get the top rating of five stars, and what made them “perfect.”

Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs
Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I seem to recall one of the albums being rated so highly was Derek & The Dominos’ “Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs.”  I wasn’t about to argue with that “perfect rating” it received.

I’m sure I’m not alone in having made cassette “mix tapes” from my bachelor days with songs recorded from my vinyl collection, just like I was my own personal DJ.  I still have them in abundance to this day, and I still pull them out and play them to this day as well, including a bunch of them in this very playlist.  The “boogie version” of “Tell The Truth” even manages to show up occasionally as I’m driving along somewhere.

It was hard to go wrong with Eric Clapton on guitar and vocals and songwriting, Bobby Whitlock on keys, gutsy vocals (those vocals being a big reason why I’ve loved this album so much through the years), and co-songwriting, Carl Radle on bass, and Jim Gordon on drums.  Having Duane Allman also on hand on guitar … well, that was the icing.

It was blues-rock, it was hard rock, it was album rock, there was a splash of country to it, it was … timeless.  Clapton is still very much out there today in the forefront with his legend, Gordon is still alive but his life has sadly turned sour, Radle unfortunately died of a kidney infection in 1980, and Whitlock … oh, yeah, he’s still very much musically active, along with his wife CoCo Carmel.

Thanks Bobby!

5 thoughts on “My music playlist for today (April 5, 2012 edition)

Leave a Reply

