It’s “Funky Friday.”  And I think I’m in the mood to dance into the weekend with an old standby of mine, riding the beat and the horns of Earth, Wind & Fire into the days ahead.

Earth, Wind, & Fire~The Essential Eart, Wind, ...
Earth, Wind, & Fire~The Essential Eart, Wind, & Fire (Photo credit: bamalibrarylady)

Yes, there was a time in my life when I’d dress up in those platform shoes and slip on a black version of those John Travolta pants like he wore in “Saturday Night Fever,” feel that same smoothness of those disco shirts with the wide collars, unbuttoned to down just below the chest to show off the chain around my neck, and go out to the teenagers’ disco in Idaho Falls lookin’ for a good time.

And the music of Earth Wind & Fire was usually a big part of that.

That was me, and I’m not ashamed to say that I could do okay on a dance floor.  In fact, my lovely wife still wishes there were more places around like that in our neck of the woods where we could just get out on the floor and grrrroooooove!

Maybe someday.  We may be getting older, but we’ll NEVER be too old to boogie!

6 thoughts on “My music playlist for today (April 6, 2012 edition)

  1. Man, I am just getting enough spare time to really check up on everybody’s blogs tonight. Wish I’d have seen this earlier in the day, I could’ve used a few shots of the music you have in this post! Well, better late than never. 🙂

Leave a Reply

