As long as I’ve been on the subject of the earliest roots of music such as jazz-fusion in the last couple of days, I might as well take a look at the earliest period of progressive rock as well.

Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention, Decemb...
Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention, December 1971, Musikhalle Hamburg (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And if there’s one place that most music fans will agree on something (even then it’s most, but chances are not all) it’s that Frank Zappa pretty much set the tone for a whole new kind of music when he and his Mothers of Invention came out with an album called “Freak Out” in 1966.

I mean, who else could help to usher in music like they did on “Freak Out” than the man who showed a skeptical Steve Allen on national television, when Zappa was a few years younger, that you could actually play music off of a bicycle?

So now, without further interruption, be prepared to “Freak Out.”

7 thoughts on “My music playlist for today (April 11, 2012 edition)

  1. Very funny timing! I just heard Zappa’s “Andy” on the radio yesterday (satellite radio, mind you). I always saw Zappa as someone I admire, more than enjoy, but I have a feeling I’m not approaching it the right way. I just find myself noticing his gear shifts (style, tempo, etc.) too much to lose myself in any of his pieces. Like riding in a lurching car, you know what I mean? I recognize the brilliance of his composition, arranging and performance skills, and there are moments and stretches of most songs where I really am getting into it. But then it goes veering somewhere else and I find it too jarring. I don’t think things always have to be linear where music’s concerned, but man, Zappa’s stuff took sonic adventuring to a whole other level! My mind is probably not evolved enough to deal with it, I suppose. 🙂

    1. I think satellite is just about the only way you could hear Zappa on the radio in most cases. To be honest, there are times when his “complicated noise” can get to be a bit much for me as well, but there’s no doubting his brilliance as a musician. And, yeah, the man was someone to admire for his sheer guts.

Leave a Reply

