Emmylou Harris has always had the kind of singing voice that can make your heart melt.  There’s something very clean about it, very pure.  When she puts emotion into the words that she sings, you feel it.

The Very Best of Emmylou Harris: Heartaches & ...
The Very Best of Emmylou Harris: Heartaches & Highways (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It doesn’t matter what kind of song Emmylou sings — straight country, something with a touch of bluegrass to it, a tune that rocks out a bit.  When she sings, you know who it is belting out the tune.  She’s got a very distinctive sound.

When I was a country music disc jockey back in my rebellious late teens, we followed a pretty strict playlist.  You stuck to the hits, the ones that made it to the top 40.  Any deeper album cuts were frowned upon.

But I was rebellious.  I was in my late teens.  How many people can look back on their late teens and say they weren’t a bit rebellious?  And when it came to Emmylou Harris, I’d usually rebel by digging deeper into her non-hit album tracks, particularly the tune “Luxury Liner.”  There was just something about that song that got my blood pumping, and it’d kick off my show nicely.

Kind of like this.

6 thoughts on “My music playlist for today (April 23, 2012 edition)

Leave a Reply

