I wrote back in the middle of January about a particular song that a friend and I both had in mind that fit the mood perfectly and powerfully on the subject of our first children being born.  I had a very similar powerful experience when it came to a song on Sunday, for a very different reason.

I Want to Know What Love Is
I Want to Know What Love Is (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s odd in a good way how you can sometimes just turn on the radio and the first song you hear fits your emotions right down to your soul, capable of soothing and comforting you when you need it the most, telling about your mood better than you can yourself.  For me, on Sunday afternoon, that song was Foreigner’s “I Want To Know What Love Is,” really appreciating the powerful vocals of Lou Gramm.

The only part of the song that doesn’t quite fit comes in the lyrics that say “In my life there’s been heartache and pain/I don’t know if I can face it again/Can’t stop now, I’ve traveled so far/To change this lonely life.”  I’m not lonely, I’ve got a lovely wife who fills my needs for a life partner.  If I were to change that last line to say “lowly life” instead, it would have fit even better.

The song may be mostly about finding someone to love deeply in your life, but it could just as well fit anyone who’s already a crucial part of your life if you’re going through a struggle with them.  It’s especially true if they’re learning themselves what real love is all about.

In my case, it’s loving someone enough that it pains you deeply when you see them going through that kind of struggle, you’re working like mad to help them through it because they mean that much to you, and there’s very strong resistance along the way.

Like the song says, it’s like a mountain you must climb.  It can feel like the world upon your shoulders.

Powerful stuff.  That’s the power of music.

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

Leave a Reply

