My family’s church — the Wasatch Hills Seventh-day Adventist Church — might be in its “offseason” as far as helping the homeless through its Inner-city Outreach (ICOR) ministry, but there is one other ministry that we take part in every year around this time that I also look forward to, and so does my lovely daughter Alicia and her friends.

30 Hour Famine
National 30 Hour Famine participants (Photo credit: Pei Chen)

It starts tonight at 6 Mountain Time.  By that time, I will have cooked, served, and consumed my usual Friday night soup along with most of the rest of my family.  At 6 p.m., my daughter and I and anyone else participating will be going without food for the next 30 hours, with only the occasional fruit smoothie or water to tide us over until midnight the next night.  It’s all part of a national 30-Hour Famine weekend, and more details can be found in the link below.

World Vision’s 30-Hour Famine

This is just one of the things that makes me extremely proud of my children, when they participate in an outreach program such as this to help their fellow human beings.  Alicia particularly gets very intent on doing her part, looking ahead to it well in advance — going out to neighborhoods in the weeks and days before the event, and then actually going through the feelings that come out of being without food for a solid 30 hours.

It’s not an easy thing at all to do, and this is not the first time I’ve participated in it myself as an adult “chaperone.”  For many participants, it takes a physical toll through dizziness and nausea, among other issues.  If they can’t make it, they bow out.  But most of the participants I’ve seen do make it, and when that pizza becomes available at midnight they are more than ready to chow down.

They chow down with smiles on their faces, not just because the pizza tastes so good, but also because the participants know they’ve done something very worthwhile, and sadly it’s very necessary.

On Saturday, there will be a time for fun but also a time for community service.  It makes for quite a long but personally rewarding 30 hours.

I think I have my topics for this blog for the weekend covered, with photos.  Go to the World Vision 30-Hour Famine website, feel free to donate there, and if you’d like you can donate under my daughter Alicia’s name.  She’d love you for it.

As always … stay tuned!

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

3 thoughts on “Hunger games? I’ve got your hunger games right here!

  1. Wow, this is quite an adventure. It’s so true that many of our fellow Americans go without food for long periods of time, many are little children who don’t have enough to eat. Bravo to you and your family for tackling this very big problem!

Leave a Reply

