I needed that Trevor Morgan/Matt Maher/Third Day concert that my lovely wife Amy and I went to at the last minute on Thursday night at Abravanel Hall.  For that matter, so did Amy.  It just served to wrap up another one of “THOSE weeks” for the two of us, ones that seem so prevalent as you wonder what the future might hold in store for you and fear starts to grip you, and it wrapped up one of “THOSE weeks” a day early.

Abravanel Hall, a concert hall in Salt Lake Ci...
Abravanel Hall, a concert hall in Salt Lake City, Utah, United States (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s attending an event like that, however, that helps to give me a feeling of some hope.  Just when one longtime dream of how to earn a living seemed to have hit a snag and run into a delay for the time being, another — possibly temporary and perhaps still fulfilling — way to bring in an income was sped up.

I went into the employment office early Monday morning to see a retraining counselor and sign some paperwork that would allow me to obtain funding and begin to learn a newer and more in-demand computer programming language, making me more attractive on the job market.

I had been shooting for a three-week course beginning as soon as May 14.  After signing the paperwork, it was just a matter of waiting for a prepaid debit card to show up in the mail to pay for my training.  On Thursday morning, I got a phone call from a representative at the training facility letting me know that they could get me in as soon as this coming Monday morning.  It then came down to when I’d get the debit card to pay for it.

The card showed up in the mail early Thursday afternoon.  After making a few fast phone calls to make sure things were in order and signing some revised paperwork, I become a dedicated computer programming student again Monday at 7 a.m.  Look out, worldwide web!  Here I come!

I wanted to celebrate, but didn’t know exactly how.  The answer to that came at 5:35 p.m. in a phone call from my friend, Pastor Bernie.  Bernie has some serious “connections.”  He knows I’m a huge music fan.  He was calling me from a meet-and-greet at Abravanel Hall in Salt Lake City for the band Third Day, he’d gotten a couple of complimentary tickets from their founder and lead singer Mac Powell, and Bernie asked me if I might like to go with Amy.

My response was fast.  A celebration was about to happen, in less than 90 minutes from the time I got the call.  I had to rush home, cook a fast dinner of a fake BLT sandwich for Amy and me, and we were headed out the door just in time to get our tickets from Bernie.

The days leading up to that were hard for Amy and me.  It’s never easy when your finances are dwindling and you’re wondering what path you’re supposed to take and responsibilities are hovering over your head like a gargoyle on an old, monolithic building.  That rollercoaster of emotions never stops in times like those, and the down times can be treacherous.  You begin to question a lot of things, including your faith.  You start thinking and doing things that you shouldn’t.

And then, a ray of light seems to shine down just when it really starts getting dark.  It seems to happen because you’ve still managed to hold onto that sliver of faith that’s inside of you.  It carries you through.

Abravanel Hall to me was transformed from a fine concert hall into a church.  I felt like doing some praising.

I’ll be keeping that in mind as I sit in that first morning of class, bright and early on Monday.

I have a future to look forward to.  There’s a light at the end of this tunnel.

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

6 thoughts on “A great way to wrap up a week

  1. Wishing you best of luck with your new endeavor, John! You’ve probably figured out by now that I am a rednecked, woman-hating (sarcasm) right leaning political independent from Amy’s hometown that thinks 180* from you, but your blog is inspirational to me and I enjoy reading it. Keep up the good work, my FB friend!

Leave a Reply

