By Amy Kathleen Miller

Since we just celebrated Mother’s Day, I wanted to tell you a little bit about my Mom, offering a little more on my background and showing why I am the person that I am.

Amy’s mother, Barbara Wareing, smiles and laughs as Amy’s father, Doug, looks at her admiringly during their 60th anniversary celebration at Island Park, Idaho, in July of 2009. (Photo By John G. Miller)

My Mom, Barbara Wareing, is a very strong, religious lady who I really admire for her courage to raise seven children.  She and my Dad, Doug Wareing, will have stayed married for 63 years this July.

Mom was a very noble lady in the fact that she was determined to raise her children up in the way they should go.  She would take us to church every Saturday, help out in church, help other people.  She loves to help other people as well.

Mom was a stay-at-home mom.  She is a devoted wife, homemaker, and mother.  To this day, she has told me that she is still raising her adult children.  There is one person who I know is praying very hard for all of us.

I remember her rather large gardens from when I was a child.  They were huge.  They were bigger than my back yard.  They were probably around a quarter of an acre.  I know because I had to help weed it, plant it, and help harvest the vegetables that would come out of it.  Our responsibility was to pick about 100 weeds out of the garden every day.  I would occasionally pull out a plant by accident, but, “oops,” Mom doesn’t know so it doesn’t matter as long as it is not too often.  I would also eat the peas and the beans, too, while doing my share of weeding.

Out of all my siblings, I am the one who has had three children of my own, everyone else out of my five surviving siblings has had two.  They probably have seen how much of a job it was for Mom to put up with all of us.  But she did have help.  My older sister, Nancy, was Mom’s live-in babysitter.  I would hear stories of my brother Paul, who was about eight or 10 years old at the time, running outside for Mom to rescue him from Nancy because he was supposed to clean his room and he didn’t.  Nancy came out right behind him.  Mom glanced at the scene, then went right back to her job of hoeing the garden.  Nancy grabbed Paul and dragged him along to the house, kicking and screaming and crying.  Nancy was a pretty good disciplinarian before she had kids of her own.

When anyone would get hurt, Mom would be right there to take care of the problem.  We lived on a farm, so sometimes there were lots of strange things that happened.   Like when one of my brothers would sic the dog on the other brother.  Or maybe someone was learning how to chase cattle off of a real cattle-herding horse, the calf went one way, the horse went another, and the kid went “splat” on the ground.  Anything can happen.  Lord knows lots of things happened to me.

We would go camping, backpacking, horseback riding, lots of things that were fun to do.  I remember them all.  We would go to 4H horse camp.  That was one week of solid time where we stayed in cabins and our horses were close-by.  Then the whole week we would have classes with our horses.  As a family, we would go backpacking for about a four-day trip where we would be roughing it up in the mountains with things that we’d carry in on our backs.  We saw many beautiful things that way. We raised calves.  I loved my childhood.

Mom is really big on maintaining good health.  If there is a problem, I’ve often called her and asked if she had any advice on any particular health problem.  She would research it to the best of her abilities.  Mom and Dad are both vegetarians because my religion, Seventh-day Adventistm, is known for sticking with God’s original plan as far as the ideal diet goes.  But that is another blog article.

Mom loved to read to us on Friday nights and Saturday afternoons, as long as she didn’t get too tired to read.  But there was the continued battle of my Dad falling asleep on the floor and Mom continually testing to see if he was listening while she’d read.

Another great character trait of Mom’s is that she will tell her children what we need to hear.  She wouldn’t just stick up for us if we were wrong.  Sometimes I don’t like that honesty, but if I want to hear something about myself that I need to hear Mom will tell me.  I could tell her about a struggle  that maybe John and I were having.  But if Mom thought that I was being unreasonable, she would tell me.  She wouldn’t just stick up for me because I am her daughter.  No, a lot of times she defended John, but then she would stick up for me if she thought the other side was unreasonable.  She would listen to what was happening and tell me what she thought, no matter what the cost.  There are a lot of moms who just stick up for their child even if they were wrong.  Not Mom, and I love that about her.

Mom also has lost a child.  We all lost my brother, Grant, from an automobile accident.  I miss him to this day.  I still remember as if it were yesterday — my brother, David, and my Dad coming into the house with a concerned look on their faces, needing to get to the phone.  I was 14 years old.  I remember the funeral and how Grant looked in the coffin.  I remember the bad dreams I had when I missed him so much after he died.

Mom would also take care of my paternal grandmother, then years later her mom and her stepmom in the same house at the same time.  She was a real trooper then.  Taking care of elderly women would really tie a person down, but Mom did it so that they didn’t end up in a nursing home.

There are lots of things that I could tell you about Mom, but maybe I’ll save them for later.  My family laughed a lot and had a lot of fun together.  We still do.  I love you, Mom.

Editor’s Note:  “Amy’s Angle” is a weekly Wednesday feature in this blog.

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

3 thoughts on “AMY’S ANGLE — More Mother’s Day thoughts

Leave a Reply

