On the second day of the Windows apps development with Visual Studio class, the natives were a bit restless.

Computer Lab
Computer Lab (Photo credit: Skokie Public Library)

In the morning, even the more VS-experienced developers were complaining about the Microsoft-provided lab instructions and saying that the authors of the instructions were taking a pretty big “leap of faith” in assuming that some students would know what to do in certain situations, when the instructions are supposed to be telling us exactly what to do, step by step.

There were comments that were making me smile with a “been there, done that” thought in my mind.  And even the more VS-experienced developers were complaining about the relatively short length of time that was provided to complete the lab assignments.

That was the most entertaining part of my morning.

I continued to work ahead with lab assignments while the lecture went on.  I just seem to be getting more of an understanding that way, being more of a “hands-on” learner.  But then the instructions can still lead me down a path that leads to problems, so … who knows what the best way to go would be?

I still think I could make some money by hiring myself out as a consultant and teach some techies a few things about clear methods of communication in dealing with people trying to learn what the techies already know.  I’m not holding my breath on that “career opportunity.”

I ended the day of training by talking to my account executive, to make sure I was even in the right class for my level of experience (beginner) in this method of programming.  Apparently, this is it.  This is just Microsoft’s way of doing things.  I asked about what the final exam would be like.  Multiple choice.

I have my work cut out for me yet.

One thought on “An entirely different world — Day 7

Leave a Reply

