My music playlist for today (July 20, 2012 edition)

This is one playlist during my “Latino week” that I know for sure my lovely wife is going to love.  She does love the funk and the soul and those Latin rhythms that come from the band War.

The World Is a Ghetto

The World Is a Ghetto (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You should have seen her light up a bit when we were riding in the car together Thursday night with the top down, she was playing the song “Get Down” repeatedly on the CD player, and as we were nearing home I told her, “I’m featuring these guys in my playlist tomorrow.”

Spill The Wine,” “Why Can’t We Be Friends?,” “Low Rider,” she loves a lot of the groovy War tunes, and I was the one to get her hooked on them.

As for me, I started growing up with these guys in 1972 with the album “The World Is a Ghetto,” a single album that seemed to bring out every single bit of what War had to offer — the soul, the funk, the Latin rhythms, the teamwork on an extended tune like “City, Country, City” that gave each member a chance to shine individually before coming back together as a group so seamlessly.  Oh, yeah, it also provided a bit of social consciousness on tunes like the title track.

It took an Animal like Eric Burdon to help shine a light on them, and once he did they ended up spreading their wings and doing some amazing things.

To top it all off, the core group is still out there under a different name, The Lowrider Band, playing that sweet “all day music.”

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at https://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Funk/Soul/Blues, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

