My music playlist for today (August 17, 2012 edition)

I’ve got a lot to do today outside of the blog.  Company’s coming for the weekend, things need to be done around the house to get ready, I’ve got a couple of “business items” that need to be handled, and there’s a big pile of dirt needing to be moved to keep some people happy.

I may end up digging into and moving that pile of dirt in the heat of the day, but that’s okay.  I’ll make myself a big, cold drink of iced tea to keep myself hydrated.  While I’m doing that, I can have some bluesy tunes in mind.

Along those lines, I was trying to remember the name 0f a young blues guitar slinger that I’d read about a while back in some side note from an old “Rolling Stone’s 100 Greatest Guitarists” magazine and couldn’t recall who it was.  And then, just this morning as I was searching around for an idea on who to feature, it was right there.

Gary Clark Jr at WFUV

Gary Clark Jr at WFUV (Photo credit: wfuv)

Gary Clark Jr., all of 28 years old, from Austin, Texas.  For good measure, he does a nice job of throwing some soul in there as well.

That’s getting around Stevie Ray country, and to me that’s more than okay.  I’d never heard Gary Clark Jr., until this morning, to be quite honest.  After all, can anyone sincerely claim that they’ve heard of everyone when it comes to every bit of music and every musician there is out there, at least ones putting out good quality, real music without any artificial coloring, flavoring, or preservatives?  Do they play that stuff on live, broadcast, non-satellite radio any more?  If there’s someone who does play it like that and can name every single artist, I’d like to meet them and shake their hand.

So, anyway, time’s ticking away and there’s sssooooo much to do.  That big pile of dirt awaits, and it’ll be good exercise and “therapy” for me.  My soundtrack will include a great tune I’ve heard just now, performed in that old-fashioned bluesy way — “Don’t Owe You a Thing” — done by one whale of a young axeman and singer in Gary Clark Jr.

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at https://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Funk/Soul/Blues, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

