Counting down to Labor Day: Seven days to go

Someone found my blog today using the search term “prayers to overcome feeling inadequate at my job.”  Which was kind of remarkable, almost “supernatural,” since it’s been about a full year to the day since I felt one of the worst feelings of my life.

Who's the Boss?

Who’s the Boss? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It was a full year ago that I was made to feel like a complete idiot by my last boss in front of all my co-workers, which he was quite good at doing at other times with other co-workers but that was the first time it had happened like that with me.

The next day, the feeling that I could very well lose my job that I’d been at for nearly five years hit me like a ton of bricks.  I could feel my complexion turning more pale, and I said a prayer in a conversational style that lasted about two hours while digging a grave for a human-sized dog, asking for help in providing a way out for my family and me.

It was a year ago today that I went home after that chewing out session and immediately put an updated resume out on monster.com.  My job search began then.  It continues today.

And here we are, coming up to Labor Day.  Yippee.

I will celebrate and raise a toast to the American worker, just like so many others this long weekend.  At the same time, I’ll be continuing to think about the way things are, and I’ll be wondering.

How in the hell is anyone supposed to survive with the way things are?  Living from paycheck to paycheck and not even living an elegant life in the process?  Continually seeing comments from people on jobs-related stories about how they haven’t seen a decent pay increase in years?

How bad can it get?  Let me put it this way:  I deposited a check for just over $81 from my former employer today, a rebate gift courtesy of the Affordable Care Act (otherwise known as that “evil” thing called “Obamacare” … yeah, getting money back from insurance companies overcharging on premiums is very evil), and I was happy to do it.

The check might not have been that much money, but these days every penny counts.  It especially counts when you’ve been unemployed for a while.

The fight continues.  I won’t back down.

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

About A View From The Middle (Class)

Hi, my name's John. I've thought about this blogging stuff for a number of years now. I got into it for real on November 10, 2011, after suddenly losing my job in late October. I've been blogging ever since, and I kept it up over a period of a year and four months of being unemployed or under-employed, to try and paint a picture of what being jobless with a family to support can be like. Finally, on February 28, 2013, I got a better job that puts us back into the "middle class." I won't stop blogging, though. Who knows, maybe I can actually turn this blogging stuff into a way to earn a living someday! If you go to my blog at https://viewfrommiddleclass.wordpress.com/ and click on my About page, it'll tell you a lot about me -- maybe more than you ever wanted to know. I'm just your average, laid-back guy who's GOING TO MAKE IT IN THIS WORLD, despite all the roadblocks thrown in the way. I also launched a "niche" blog on music at http://thecrossovermusicchannel.blogspot.com/ that I'm very excited about because of the popularity of music playlist articles here. Also, check out and "Like" this blog's Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/daddysangbassdude2 for instant updates. Look forward to seeing y'all around!
This entry was posted in Faith, Job search, Stream of consciousness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

