I’ve always been one to go a bit “against the grain,” and music is no exception.

When it comes to classic rock, while some might say their favorite member of the group Queen was Freddie Mercury or Brian May, my favorite was drummer Roger Taylor.  Why?  Because in the songs that he wrote, he would more often “go against the grain” and put in the kind of notes that were a bit more unexpected, plus his songs just rocked harder.

English: George Harrison in the Oval Office du...
English: George Harrison in the Oval Office during the Ford administration. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The same goes with my choice of a favorite Beatle.  Paul and John’s music got the most attention, and it’s easy to see why.  My favorite, though, was George Harrison.

Why?  Because, in part, in the songs that he wrote, he would more often “go against the grain” and put in the kind of notes that were a bit more unexpected — known as “accidentals.”

Beyond that, while I like some of Paul McCartney’s pop touches there are others that just seem too “formulaic,” too “easy,” too “hook-laden”; while I appreciated the statements that John Lennon made, some of it was just too “heavy” to take in long sittings; with Harrison, there was a nice blending of everything — lighter on the pop vein without going totally away from it, with just as much in the way of important statements to be made but in a more peaceful manner, not surprising coming from the “quiet Beatle.”  And, yeah, I thought the spiritual side of George was pretty cool too.

I’ve had more Harrison solo albums in my collection than McCartney or Lennon, right up through his last ones.  That must say something about where my head’s at.

Yeah, I’ve been known to go “against the grain.”

Leave a Reply

