I slept for less than an hour last night … less than one hour, total.

Car dealership in Rockville, Maryland (Courtes...
Car dealership in Rockville, Maryland (Courtesy Jeep, now Darcars Chrysler/Jeep) located at: 755 Rockville Pike. Rockville, Maryland 20852. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been going through online training exercises on my own since I started a new car sales job Monday morning, and yesterday morning I went through an exercise that talked about using social media and it asked a question about how effective our dealership’s more modern marketing methods are.  I did some checking around, and actually found that our dealership could do more to bring in customers through social media.
For some reason, as soon as my head hit the pillow last night, ideas started racing through my brain on how to take that kind of marketing-oriented step.  It felt solid to me, almost “inspired.”  The more I laid in bed, the more ideas came to me.  It was maddening.

After just three days of absolute beginner’s training on selling a line of cars, I was mentally preparing to present these ideas to one of our sales managers.  After over 10 months of being out of work, I suddenly found myself ready to pitch some big ideas.

This morning came, the sales manager came out to chat with the sales staff who were there, and a perfect opportunity came along to pitch the thoughts I’d laid awake stewing over hours before.  After some excited discussion back and forth between three people in particular — including me — the sales manager was convinced.  He presented it to the general manager, who was partially convinced.  The part he was most convinced about had to do with me, and the things that I could do to help draw in customers to the dealership who’ve already gone through some thorough online research.

I suddenly became a key player in a crucial marketing campaign after being “down” for over 10 months, and it was all so sudden.  It felt great.  I felt important again.  For the first time in years, I felt like my input made a big difference in a business decision.

It’s only been a matter of weeks since someone who was concerned about my job prospects advised me by saying “sell yourself.”  I feel like I’ve been doing that like a madman ever since.

The same “presence” that told me nearly a year ago to start a personal blog in order to share our struggles to keep our family going through its greatest challenge ever seemed to plant itself in my mind and heart again last night, pushing me to take a chance on pushing ideas that could turn into something successful, pushing me to “sell myself” and something I’ve come to believe in, perhaps getting us on a faster track to resuming our family’s preferred method of spiritual worship.

I followed through.  The timing seemed perfect.  The sales manager’s response was all I’d dreamed it would be.

I’m willing to “sell myself” in certain ways.  I’m not willing to “sell my soul.”  Maybe sometimes if we want to pull ourselves up by our own bootstraps after getting to a point as low as we’ve ever seen, it takes some “mysterious ways.”

I’ll explain it in better detail in a couple of days.  I do need some sleep.  Perhaps this is where the healing begins.

4 thoughts on “It’s all about “selling yourself”

  1. Don’t let them take credit for your ideas, John! (Although I watched “Undercover Boss” tonight 😀 (YAY!) Congratulations! You will prove yourself a valuable asset and progress to marketing from the sales floor! Hooray, John, but please don’t loose sleep over it. Tomorrow is going to come (Lord willing!) whether you worry or not. It’s a waste of good energy!
    I remember & know too well how it feels after so many months of being out of work. (Hugs)
    Be happy, be thankful, have fun!! and be careful! Best wishes, John! OXO

    1. No, Eve, this is not something they can take credit for, because at this point I’m the only one that can and will be doing it. I’ll write more about it here tomorrow. The losing sleep part goes beyond this idea too, also thinking about making it through until the money really starts coming in. But I have faith that it will. Thanks for your caring, sistah!

Leave a Reply

