By Amy Kathleen Miller

Well, now that John has a new job we all have adjustments to make.  Since he works longer hours, I have to do more than what I used to do at home.

Not that I’m complaining, but it does make for some very big adjustments on my side as well.

English: Amy's house It's great
Keeping things going around the house. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now that John is gone from home a lot more, a lot of what he used to do around the house falls more on me — helping to straighten up, grocery shopping (I hate grocery shopping while John doesn’t mind it at all), taking daughter Alicia to and from school, helping her with homework, etc.  It makes my day go super fast because of all the things I need to get done and not enough hours to do it.  I now have to push more for a schedule myself on how long I need to work on this or that task or maybe no time at all for certain things.

When John lost his job nearly a year ago, it was quite the adjustment for us to be home with each other pretty much all the time.  Now that he is gone so much, it is an adjustment again trying to get used to him being gone more than home again.  No rest for the weary, wouldn’t you say?  But you know, I guess that is part of life.  The husband or wife or both partners usually work outside the home to make money to bring home the fake bacon for the family.  I am vegetarian, so it would be fake bacon.  The pigs are safe around me, ha!

I take Alicia to and from her church school now, and that is two hours on the road every day.  But I really want her to go to the church school, so driving her daily is something that I have to do every day and the hours that I drive I am starting to warm up my singing voice.  By the end of the year, my voice will be ready to sing anything.

Just because John has a job now doesn’t mean we are out of the financial rut we have been in, especially with the main bread-winner being without a paying job for so long.  It’s a devastating experience.  It is going to take time and a lot of patience, sweat, and some tears.  Because it takes hard work to try to get the savings back that we used up, to try and get the debt down … to try and pursue our dreams together.

It is hard to say whether we are stronger now because we are still struggling.  We are not through the storm, so to speak.  But I hope we will be stronger when all is said and done.  We will keep trusting God that things will be okay.  In the meantime, we have kept our family intact, including the fuzzy, four-legged “kids.”  But we will make the adjustment that we need to make in order to survive.  There are times when it is downright scary and times where we are in total awe.  But through it all, we will survive because we are a surviving bunch.

Before too long this morning, I’ll be going with John to take him to the nearest light rail station so he can go in to work until late again tonight.  He should get home again just in time to say hi and goodnight to Alicia before she goes to bed.  She misses her time with her daddy already, even including those times when she’d ask him for help with her homework.  It’s quite an adjustment for all of us.

Thanks for listening to my rambling on, at least I got a lot of my feelings out in the open.

Editor’s Note:  “Amy’s Angle” is a weekly Wednesday feature in this blog.

Copyright 2012, Daddysangbassdude Media

Leave a Reply

