My lovely wife Amy and I walked a few blocks from home to the nearest elementary school this morning to participate in the 2012 general election.  I guess I don’t need to tell who we voted for.

My sticker showing that I did indeed vote. (Photo By John G. Miller)

I trust that everyone who’s registered to do so will do the same.  Even if we look past the electoral college, sheer numbers in the popular vote can speak loudly.  This time, I’m hoping if nothing else for it to be shown that the Supreme Court’s ruling on Citizens United was flawed at best, idiotic at worst, and that having Republican presidential challenger Mitt Romney parroting the phrase “corporations are people” is, um, “misguided.”

I’ve been voting in every election ever since I became eligible over 30 years ago, and never before have I seen such a massive wave of surveys, robocalls, literature in the mail, radio ads, television ads, internet ads … it numbs the mind.  I’ve had phone calls coming in rapid succession on a nightly basis, including some that repeated what was said in a previous phone call just a few minutes before.  I’ve had Mitt Romney call me up on a regular basis (via robocall, of course) to urge me to vote for Mia Love for the U.S. House, called the number back that dialed me and asked to be taken off the call list, and just kept getting those calls:  “Hi, this is Mitt Romney, and I’d like …”

It hasn’t been hard to see which party has benefited the most from that tremendous influx of campaign cash, and it would be silly to think it hasn’t made a difference.  On election eve, I sat down to watch the network news and pretty much every other ad shown was from some conservative super PAC.  The experience was made even more frustrating because of just how blatantly misleading the ads were.

We can thank the Supreme Court and Citizens United for that.

My immediate response to the barrage of misleading ads on election eve was a rant that contained the deep hope that President Obama would win if for no other reason than to be in a position to replace a retiring conservative Supreme Court justice at some point in the next four years so Citizens United can be overturned.

I’ll be watching the election results tonight very closely, of course, and if it looks like it’s going to actually be decided tonight I’ll have a follow-up later.  I’d love nothing more than to see Citizens United and its unlimited funding go down in a stinging defeat.  I’ll be pulling for the people’s voice to actually be heard over the noise that’s generated by campaign riches, and I hope that we can keep dreaming that real change will come someday.

Here’s to hoping that people’s middle class dreams can rise up again, someday soon.  There is no surrender.

Stay tuned.

3 thoughts on “Now it’s Election Day: I voted

Leave a Reply

