I have a lot of friends spread out across various parts of the globe.  Some of them are people I’ve only met briefly in person and gotten to know better online.  Many others are people I’ve never met in person and have still gotten to know them online.  Many others are people I’ve known personally going back decades, and we’ve managed to stay in touch online.

That’s part of the “magic” of the worldwide web.

Our personal beliefs aren’t all the same, and that can be said in two of the touchier matters people have to deal with on a regular basis:  political and spiritual.  But in other ways, regardless of political or spiritual differences, we’re still friends.  There’s still some common bond that holds these friendships together, and to me … well, that’s pretty cool.  I thrive on seeing different perspectives.  They help me to more closely examine my own, they help to open up my mind to various possibilities, and they keep my beliefs in check.

Through the years, my perspective has changed in some areas.  I’ve always been liberal in many ways, conservative in others.  It’s been more in the conservative areas that I once had where my thoughts have changed.

Easter-flowersWhen it comes to spiritual matters, that’s an area where my beliefs haven’t changed.  In fact, they’ve only gotten stronger with the passage of time.  I see friends all around me from all parts of the map who either question or outright reject my beliefs, not in a personal confrontation but in stating their own thoughts freely.  And that’s fine, people are free to believe or not believe in whatever they choose.  It’s not a right that I’ve been given to force people to believe one way or another, to think like me.  All I can do is state my own thoughts and beliefs, and if that has an impact, so be it.

It’s called “free agency.”  We are given the power to accept or deny, part of our own free will.  That’s something that gets abused all too often, including those who have strong spiritual beliefs.  Their beliefs are so strong that they may go overboard in proclaiming them, and a good opportunity to be their own “still, small voice” can be lost.

There are also those who’ve had strong spiritual beliefs who have chosen to walk away from their church.  I was reading an article about that not long ago, which raised a question worth thinking about:  Is it so much about the people walking away from their church, or their church walking away from the people?

spirituality
spirituality (Photo credit: Loulair Harton)

Again, the best I can do is talk about my own beliefs, my own convictions.  And I can readily say that over the past year and a half of struggling to survive with my family through some tough times and coming through it all, my spiritual beliefs are rock-solid, and that won’t change no matter what arguments anyone who believes otherwise might throw out there.

All I can do is remember the things that we’ve seen or experienced lately that strengthen our own belief.

We’ve seen prayers answered in ways that can’t be relegated to mere “coincidence.”  To have prayers answered in a timely manner a couple of times might be “coincidence.”  To have them answered that way repeatedly … it goes beyond that.

Those who have endured can testify to that.  It goes to the kind of spirituality that calls us to witness without being overbearing to the point of turning people away.  It goes to the kind of openness that allows us to communicate with those around us with a courage to show our beliefs through our example.

As we celebrate this Easter Sunday and all that it means, we can show in unique ways that what we believe in is very much alive — not just on Easter Sunday, but every chance we get on a daily basis.

One thought on “A case of “believe it or not” this Easter Sunday

  1. Pingback: Yes? | camicommie

Leave a Reply

