By Amy Kathleen Miller

The weather is getting warmer and more enjoyable to be outside.  I love it when the weather is more pleasant, it means I can get more accomplished with what I love to do.

I feel as though there are many more options opening up to me since John has a job again, and it is a good job.  I am continuing to work on the horses’ tricks and see where I will go from there.  There is an opportunity to possibly do some shows for children in the local county  library system.  I am having a library representative come out and see what my horses can do and see if it will work for the libraries’ summer program.  Since I can do many different varieties of shows with many different acts with the horses, I believe that it would be a very opportune moment for the kids in this area to see these different acts.  So perhaps maybe the library will enjoy and make it more than a once-a-year thing.

horses
horses (Photo credit: willg willg.photography)

I have also been working with a student who wants to do a partial lease on Gypsy to learn off of her some important lessons while she is getting the experience she needs around horses to be a great rider and confident horse handler as well as a trainer.  If she could come to the arena at the same time I do, she could work on Gypsy as I work on Cheyenne and she can learn by observing what I do with them.  I can keep an eye on her and correct her when needed.  I do find from my first observation of her that she really is a natural around horses.  I don’t have to hover over her a lot to help her get a point.  She gets it.  However, Gypsy is great at helping to guide the student.  I just love to watch Gypsy work her magic on students, because Gypsy loves students.  It is nice to know that this student looks confident and sure of herself around this horse and the fact that Gypsy is not going to spook and do the jitterbug on her head  like a more green horse would.  Gentle horses are worth their weight in gold.

I do find it important for students, when they are old enough, to learn about horses from the ground first.  It is funny that it took trick training to open up a new door to me about the fact that horses could be used to a higher level than just riding.  They have personalities and expressions all their own.  They want the interaction with humans just as much as we do them.  They desire a relationship consisting of more than always jumping on their backs and using them for riding only.  They desire that one-on-one communication between human and horse that you never just experience when you only ride them about a couple times a week.

The question we need to answer from our horses is this:  Do horses have good days and bad days like we humans do?  Do they desire more from us than we give them?  If so, how do we get that relationship with them and where do we start?  I have found that horses that do have that relationship are happier horses.  The more we teach them language, the more they teach us and the more they try to reach out to us.

Horse watching
Horse watching (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

It brings me to a story that when I teach more language to horses or they teach me more about their language they use language to express themselves to me.  For example, Cheyenne was grazing on grass one day and the lead rope, which I usually drape on their backs, happened to fall on the ground.  Cheyenne accidentally stepped on this rope and scared herself by not being able to lift her head as high.  She jumped, but then looked in my direction to see if I was watching.  Then she gave me the biggest, cheesiest grin ever.  I found that to be hilarious to say the least.  There was another time when Cheyenne snuck over to the where the bales of hay are kept and started munching on some.  I then noticed and responded by yelling, “Cheyenne, get out of the hay!”  She nonchalantly left, and as she passed where I was sitting she gave me another cheesy grin as she went by.  Here are two moments where it was a comical time with her.

In other horse matters, I know I have not mentioned the neglected and rescued horse Milo/Legend for a while, but there was a time I didn’t know what his future would be like.  But, as usual, the Lord answered another prayer of mine and found the perfect person to help him with his problem.  A friend of mine, Colleen, is working him through his aggression issues by teaching him that he can trust people again.  He has just been moved and starved from place to place a little too much.  I don’t blame him for his behavior.  I will tell more on his story later.  But through his aggression, he was not trying to be mean, he was in his own way saying that he was either scared or crying for someone to understand him.  Colleen is doing that with him, teaching him that he can trust her and she won’t hurt him.  She is actually going to take him to her home to work with him.  The driving distance is too far for her day after day and he needs daily guidance to be a trusting horse again.  More to come on him later.

2 thoughts on “AMY’S ANGLE: Opening new doors with the horses

  1. Your horses sound so amazing!! Cheyenne must be a hoot.
    Hopefully everything will work out with the student, she seems eager to be around horses and to learn, though how do you tell if someone is a natural with horses?
    I’m wishing Colleen luck with Legend, every horse deserves to be loved and to know he’s with those that love him 🙂

  2. Hello Tayla, I have ridden horses for years but never had the relationship I have now that I have been training to do tricks and taking Pat Parelli training method. My horses, in the last two years seemed to have come alive by ten-fold.

    Students interested in horses, there are those that are born with more horse savvy than others. Some catch on to instruction faster than others. Some are extremely afraid or I seem to have to hover over all the time. There are others I can instruct but don’t have to be on constant watch over them.

    I will keep you posted about Legend. There are lots happening to this horse who needs rehabilitated from his abuse in his life and finally he is getting it.

Leave a Reply

