This is my wish for my children: to find and feel the same love, the same happiness, the same trust, and share the same commitment with their life partner that I have with their mother Amy.

If they can do that, they’ll be set for a lifetime, no matter what comes along.

The words of a song bring out a lot of memories, feelings and experiences in me when it comes to Amy, especially on Valentine’s Day.

Amy and her good friend Cheyenne. (Photo by Randy Kroll)
Amy and her good friend Cheyenne. (Photo by Randy Kroll)

Right from the day we met, I’ve always gotten lost in her eyes.  Her soul shines through in her eyes.  Those eyes of hers captivate me, and they always will.

Amy came along when I was lost.  Emptiness filled my heart.  In times when I’d be feeling down or stressed, I’d go driving off in my car, stereo blaring away, playing the perfect music to fit the mood I was in.

But then Amy came along, and I could turn to her to soothe me just by being there to talk and be with.  She’s been strong medicine for the emptiness.

It’s a medicine that can burn through any facade I put up, the kind of facade only pride can put up.  She can bring out what’s deep inside of me.

All she has to do is look deeply into my eyes.  It’s there that I find light, heat.  They make me feel complete.  They bring me peace like a thousand churches.  All my fruitless searching ended the moment I first looked into Amy’s eyes.

It’s in those eyes that I can feel her pain.  I’ve seen too much of that in the struggles we’ve experienced in the past few years.  It’s contributed to moments between us slipping away.  We both work very hard just to survive, and she’s contributed a lot to that survival.  Our hours may not complement each other, and we yearn so much for those moments when we can keep each other awake and alive.  We never stop praying for that day when the struggle subsides.

All she has to do to make me feel complete is look deeply into my eyes.  It’s there that I find light, heat.  They make me feel complete.  They bring me peace like a thousand churches.  All my fruitless searching ended the moment I first looked into Amy’s eyes.

I love my children down to the marrow of my bones.  That’s why the love that I feel for their mother is the kind of love I want them to experience.

2 thoughts on “Getting lost in the eyes of my precious valentine

Leave a Reply

