An entirely different world — Day 4

Thursday morning was fairly laid back.  I was basically “multi-tasking,” between listening to the online morning lecture with demos going on by the instructor and reading through my new programming “bible,” Visual Studio 2010 All-In-One For Dummies from the beginning.

The Microsoft Visual Studio .NET logo.
The Microsoft Visual Studio .NET logo. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Again, I’m heading toward the final day of what is supposed to be an introductory course for Visual Studio and the concepts of web development, but this seems like it’s more mixed between being geared toward students who seem to have at least a taste of experience in this kind of programming and those who have more experience than that and might just be needing some fine-tuning on a few points.

It’s not geared toward those like me who’ve had nothing but mainframe-type programming experience, with only a few months of Visual Basic experience thrown into the mix many years ago.

That’s why I made the investment in my Visual Studio “bible.”  It helps to take the “Greek” that’s being spoken during the class and have it start making more sense.

Just what I need!

As usual, the afternoon was set aside for lab assignments.  There were four of them available to do, but I hadn’t even been able to get through two complete ones so far — more like 1 1/2 until Thursday.  And this time, two of the assignments were “required.”

I just kept my cool, stayed relaxed, read through the instructions carefully … and finished both of the “requireds.”

Thursday turned out to be a pretty darn good day.  I needed that.

My music playlist for today (May 11, 2012 edition)

My weekly “Friday funk” feature isn’t just about funk and soul music.  Sometimes it’ll be including a healthy taste of the blues as well.

Logo Delta Blues Museum
Logo Delta Blues Museum (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

After all, how many among us have found ourselves in a bit of a “Friday funk” after struggling our way through the week, weighed down by the burdens of the past several days, and just need to let it all pour out of our systems by hearing some good ol’ blues just so we can make it through the weekend?

There’ve been a few times when I’ve featured some straight blues or rhythm-and-blues here before on a Friday, and to me it felt gooooooooood!  Like the time I played a few Stevie Ray Vaughan tunes in here on a Friday, the house was a-rockin’ and you didn’t need to bother knockin’.

This time, I’m going to take us out of a long, trying week by going to one of the “deeper sources” for the blues.

Who’s in the mood for some Delta blues?

Just get into that feeling.  Just get into that mood.  Feel free to stomp those mud-covered feet, and let it aaallllllllllll hang out!

All aboard for that ride down to Mississippi!